1 year later

Standard

new years copy

Last year I blogged about my New Year’s Resolutions. In that post I resolved to

a) write one song every other month, and

b) tangibly help the poor and oppressed in my global community in 2012.

So how did I do?

I thought it would only be fair that I followed up on how these resolutions panned out. Truth be told, I ended up doing alright, but not as well as I would have hoped.

I wrote a few songs, but not on a regular basis, and I didn’t finish a single one.

In my second resolution, I took baby steps.

I got to participate in a Skype call with a woman trying to prevent families from selling their daughters into prostitution in Cambodia (I told you about her in that earlier post).

I also committed to attending a church for this year called Sanctuary. It’s a community that includes people of every socio-economic status (in other words, it welcomes the street-involved person just as much as the office-worker). It’s an amazing place, and I’ve met some amazing people, but I can’t say I do anything there but show up.

It hasn’t come to anything yet, but I applied for positions with the York International Internship Program. If I get accepted, I could be working in Johannesburg in a community that restores hope to people living with AIDS, promoting the civic awareness of children in Bangalore, or even helping with social media in a Ugandan village. Cray.

Wanting more

Looking back, the thing I’m most frustrated with in 2012 is my willingness to compromise. I didn’t pursue my resolutions further because I put them second to less important things. This leads me to my resolution for 2013.

Looking forward

Considering last year’s story, this year I resolve:

1. To fight resistance.

I can’t count the number of times I picked the “safe” or “default” option over what I knew what was best. Steven Pressfield writes,

“Resistance obstructs movement only from a lower sphere to a higher. It kicks in when we seek to pursue a calling in the arts, launch an innovative enterprise, or evolve to a higher station morally, ethically, or spiritually. So if you’re in Calcutta working with the Mother Teresa Foundation and you’re thinking of bolting to launch a career in telemarketing . . . relax. Resistance will give you a free pass.”

This year, I will fight the urge to do things just because they are the default option/what my culture tells me is the right option/seemingly safe or easy. Instead, I’ll pursue the things I really feel called to.

I will fight resistance.

fight resistance copy

What’s your take on New Years Resolutions?

One thought on “1 year later

  1. courtneymallam

    There was something that I’d learned about in my Psych of Family class that always resounded with me: the notion of choosing by default. It means that instead of thinking what you really want, or what your goals are (or even what’s just right for you), a common option is that people just take the next most rational/expected step. They default into the majority of people.

    Kudos to you for not only being more intentional, but more analytical than most.

Leave a Reply

