Downtown in December

Standard

I’m only one assignment away from being off for winter break. All I can think is: I’m almost freeeeeee! A friend decided on my behalf that it was high time for me to take a break.

So, I took the day off on Tuesday to have some adventures downtown.

I started out with a meal at Fresh Restaurants with my friend Kaili.

My verdict: YUM.

Fresh Resto copy

Fresh is a vegetarian restaurant, but I would highly recommend it even for carnivores. I was overwhelmed by the number of good options on the menu.

I ordered a mango-banana-coconut milk smoothie with a creamy soup, slices of cornbread, and thai-seasoned salad. Best of all, the restaurant was located on Bloor, just a short ride from campus.

chai spiced sugar cookies

A photo for the recipe from My Baking Addiction. Click on it to find the recipe!

Afterwards, I baked with my friend Erin at her place. We made Chai Spiced Sugar Cookies and decided to skip dinner for desert instead.

That night, we journeyed to the Toronto Christmas Market at the Distillery District in downtown Toronto. (The Distillery District is a restored Victorian factory area in downtown Toronto with cute cobblestone streets and shoppes – not shops. Haha. Think Charles Dickens.)

DSCN1006

There were lights…

Toronto Christmas Market

…and apple fritters

apple fritters Christmas market fritters

…and lots of whimsy.

mullet

By the end of the night our noses and toes were numb, but we were getting giddy with holiday spirit. Considering the lack of snow in Toronto this winter, I’d say that was quite a feat!

That being said, I haven’t even scratched the surface of fun things to do in Toronto. Often I think that I can only have adventures if I travel far, but at my doorstep lies a city of adventures waiting to happen. I love being intentional about becoming a tourist of my own city.

On that subject, if you know any fun winter activities to do downtown, drop a comment below.

If you’re interested in checking out the Toronto Christmas Market, it’s on ’till Sunday. I guarantee that the fritters and lights will bring joy to your heart.

Happy winter-ing!

Erin and I

One thought on “Downtown in December

Leave a Reply

