Choice and a comic from Candy Chang

Standard

The other day I was thinking:

I’m twenty years old + that is a young age to be.

The world is my oyster.

Heck.

I could have a baby.
I could backpack Europe.
I could study more to become a business consultant.
I could live as a nun and memorize scriptures for the rest of my life.

I’m at the crossroads of 100 different paths. Which do I take?

My friend Elissa Mielke blogged this Sylvia Plath quote the other day:

figs

It helped me realize how choice is burdensome.

And then I realized:

I need to start making some choices.

Agh! (A full week of panic/despair/list-making follows.)

One of my friends, Erin, often teases me for trying to conquer the parts of life that can’t be conquered (i.e. relationships, self-growth, the future). You have to live it in the moment, she says. You can’t “finish it” or “achieve it” in one thrust.

I often look for happiness in arriving (at a state of perfect circumstance, or something). It doesn’t work. Life starts now, and that is a beautiful, liberating thing.

Candy Chang’s comic (shared here with permission) is about how not having to choose one thing is a good thing. Read it if what I said is resonating.

milkmuffin1

milkmuffin2

milkmuffin3

milkmuffin4

milkmuffin5

What choices are you struggling with? 

To read more about Candy, go visit her website. It’s rad.

4 thoughts on “Choice and a comic from Candy Chang

  1. ajuanderfullife

    I’m a fan of Monterrey Jack cheese… but that’s just me. Nice post, Esther but how how does cheese relate to your life…?

    I think I missed the metaphor… (Kidding. Great job. This is just my pitiful tempt at being funny.)

  2. This post and that comic really speak to me (and not just because I’m a cheese fanatic!). Sometimes it really is necessary to realise that what you love, you love because of everything else you experiences. You can’t truly love what you do when it’s the only thing you ever do/have done, can you?

Leave a Reply

