I love communications.

Standard

I feel like I’ve finally found the degree of my dreams. I don’t want to get into it too much, because we’ve only been together for a week, but seriously. I am telling you, communications is the major for me.

This is my first year as a communications major (side note: the official major and minor program will be established by 2014). For a gal who has studied everything from psychology to international development, and who has felt lost in the midst of it all, this is monumental.

Expectations

When I left high school, I felt that it was expected for me to know what career I wanted, what I was really passionate about, and at the very least – what I wanted to major in.

But I didn’t know! So in the meantime, I did all the things that seemed interesting to me, and began to work through the haze of confusion of career options, degree options, club options, options, options, options . . . And I’m still working it out!

Image

Fast forward

Last night, I had my first communications class. The class was dynamically taught, the subject matter corresponds to my passions, and I can see the content helping me in a future career. This is a new thing. I finally found the rightly fitting program for me.

When you get to university, you may also feel that you’re not ”getting it.” In that place of uncertainty and doubt, I’d encourage you to keep struggling. For a life of passion. For an academic pursuit with purpose. Even for peace. Who knows, one day you might be surprised with arriving at something you really love.

9 thoughts on “I love communications.

    • Thanks Jaclyn! I think so too!

      Yes, she was the brain behind the whole thing, I believe. She teaches the Tuesday evening course that I’m enrolled as well as the practicum course at the 4xxx level on Thursday.

Leave a Reply

