Chicoutimi… Explore Program… here I come!

Standard
Springggg….

It’s the night before my departure to Chicoutimi. I still haven’t finished packing, writing my major proposal, writing my summer job application, buying all the stuff I’m supposed to, applying for a government loan, or blogging (evidently). It’s crazy. I feel overwhelmed.

I’m exhausted, but I’m excited. I’m going to Quebec for five weeks for the Explore Program. It’s a government-funded language immersion program that is apparently awesomer-than-awesome according to the people that I’ve asked. If you’re interested, by the way, click here.
I’m not sure what things are in store for me this summer, but I’m looking forward to meeting new people and getting way better at speaking French. I’m also glad I will be living in community with people my age, exploring new francophone territory, and growing up a little bit by living on my own and actually doing my own laundry.
I have about twenty-four hours left to get ready. Before I know it, I’ll be on the bus, with a 12 hour journey ahead of me, and some homesickness in my heart.
Part of me wants to try and control what’s happening – to get nervous and anxious and worked up. Yet I know that the only way to respond to situations like these is to enjoy the ride and live the adventure.
But before I do that, I have to finish packing, write my major proposal, write my summer job application, buy that stuff . . .
Leave a Reply

