the "Love List"

Standard
I finished my exams on Monday! It’s a bizarre feeling to be left without a schedule, with hours available for pursuing the things I’ve been leaving on the back-burner for a while.
Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about how I use my time. I was inspired by an article about this thing called the “love list.” The idea is to write down the things that you love doing – that bring you joy and satisfaction. Then, you make another list of things that you actually spend your time doing. After that, you evaluate how you’re spending your time.
Just a few things off the top of my head:
I need more: face-to-face, I need less: email/text | more: outside, less: inside | more: playing music, less: YouTube | more: real-book reading, less: article-surfing
I guess there will always be things that we have to do, so the challenge is cutting out the unnecessary time-sucking soul-draining things, and transplanting better things into their places. It’s kind of like surgery, but without the blood.
Thinking about your time and the way you spend it can be a good way to prepare for university. There will be a lot of opportunities, so make sure to choose the ones that will feed your soul!
Play sports? Join a team or house league.
Love singing? Make sure you head out to open-mic nights at Lunik and think about starting your own radio show.
Need to write? Write for ProTem or take an English course if you’re not an English major.
One last caveat: You won’t be able to do everything, so aim to do a few things well.
P.S. Spring is coming into full bloom at Glendon! Just a few shots I’ve taken on campus:
Intense cherry blossoms next to York Hall. Gorgeous.
My favourite tree at Glendon.
To me, it looks like something out of a Group of Seven Painting.
I’m a morning person.
I love walking to the quad early in the day as the sun is shining through the branches and mist.
P.P.S. I was sort of hoping you wouldn’t scroll all the way down here, but now that you have… sorry. For my absence. (My head is hanging in shame.) I kind of went into exams/studying/surviving mode for a while. I promise to be posting more regularly. Ciao!
Leave a Reply

