Fwinter

Standard
I already griped about this in my Lunik post, but I feel the need to say this again. The transition from fall to winter is a cruel, cruel purgatory. Behold: fwinter.
Complaining about the weather is easy, but I’ve realized that there is real beauty in a person who can find joy in all of the seasons. Like lately, my friend has been telling me about her mom, who she says has always anticipated winter instead of dreading it. I respect that kind of optimism.
So here is my attempt at being a more content and optimistic person – I’ve thought up some ways that “fwinter” is special.
The first thing that comes to mind: Fwinter is the ideal time for brisk walks. It’s not too cold, but not too hot. There’s something uniquely refreshing about taking one; it clears out your lungs and your mind. In fact, Glendon is an ideal location for a fwinter walk (nudge), because it’s surrounded by forests.

Side note: tromping through the leaves makes me feel like a kid again.

Fwinter is excellent for drinking lots of deliciously warm homemade beverages. Chai tea, milk tea, hot chocolate with a frothed top… satisfaction is holding one of these babies and wearing an itchy sweater. It’s no mystery why the milk frother is my favourite non-essential kitchen utensil…  
Fwinter is an ideal time to start looking forward to winter. I find that it’s really easy to let a season slip by if you don’t set some goals. So I’ve already decided what I want to do when winter comes, before it comes.

[This is my list so far. Do you have one? Comment below!]
Fwinter is the time to give. It’s right before the holidays, so there are lots of opportunities. This year my family/church is doing Operation Christmas Child, so we’ll be filling up shoe boxes with toys, practical things, and candy for a kids around the world. It’s a small thing, but sweet nevertheless. 
Lastly… fwinter is for Fall Campus Day! (This is technically a fall thing, but for the sake of this post I’m going to pretend that it’s not.) I actually just came from FCD, where I spent the day (wo)manning the popcorn machine. It was an awesome experience, but if you missed it, don’t worry. More events are forthcoming, and you can book a campus tour anytime! 
So the season is good.

Brisk walks. Hot chocolate. Seasonal planning. Giving. Fall Campus Day. What do you do during this time of year? Leave a comment below; I’d love to know!

2 thoughts on “Fwinter

Leave a Reply

