Turning a new leaf.

Standard

I was on my way to the gym the other day, but because it was so warm outside, I thought I’d go for a jog outdoors instead. Best decision of the week.

The forest surrounding Glendon is enormous and beautiful. So for an hour and a half, I spent some quality time with the trees. As I jogged, I listened to some Jon Foreman, who sang me this:

“This is your life and today is all you’ve got now / And today is all you’ll ever have.” (listen to a pretty good live version of the song here)

This really struck me.

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about my life. For the first time ever, I feel truly responsible for it. I think it happened when I came to university. When you’re a university student, no one can dictate what you should do (although they may try). The result is that you have, practically, the freedoms of an adult.

So when Jon Foreman was singing to me about my life, I knew the weight of his words. This is my life. So what am I going to do with it? Even now, it’s a terrifying question, with no easy answer.

Instead of getting paralyzed into inaction by fear, here’s the gist of my current resolve: 
live your life,
see what works out,
be gracious with yourself when you mess up. 
Things will work out.

Personally looking forward to new things happening in life and nature. Happy fall everyone!

One thought on “Turning a new leaf.

Leave a Reply

